That Which Remains

That Which Remains 
UnPiano Trio creates a unique sensory experience at sunset in Z Ward
Wednesday May 8, 6pm-7pm
Z Ward, 63 Conyngham St, Glenside, SA
Ticket price/s $20/$40
The Z Ward, with its generous musical acoustic, is as beautiful on the outside as it is chillingly grim within.” The Advertiser
UnPiano performs in Glenside’s notorious Z Ward, as part of the SA History Festival. Originally home to the criminally insane for 80 years, the empty cells and gardens of Z Ward are transformed into extraordinarily resonant performance spaces, taking the audience on a unique narrative journey. The trio will use the natural resonance and architecture of Z Ward to connect to its restless and turbulent past.

UnPiano is Derek Pascoe (saxophone) UK/Australia, Johannes S. Sistermanns (electronics, voice) Germany, and Gabriella Smart (synthesizer) Australia. The Trio was established in 2017 by three musicians from diverse backgrounds who are united by their love of freely improvised music. By exploring acoustic and manipulated sounds to create a narrative that explores emotional boundaries, they create an intimate connection to their immediate performance space. UnPiano have performed in Poland, Berlin and around Australia, including forthcoming performances at MONA.
Presented by Soundstream in partnership with the National Trust of South Australia as part of the History Festival of SA
Artist Biographies:
 Gabriella Smart
 Pianist Gabriella Smart is one of the leading advocates of new music in Australia – through performance, improvisation, collaborative composition, commissioning and curation. She is the recipient of two prestigious awards in 2019: The Australia Council for the Arts Paris Residency, and a South Australian Government Creative Fellowship. In she was awarded a Prelude Composer Residency and a UNESCO City of Music residency in Katowice, Poland. Gabriella received a Churchill Fellowship in 2010, and a Helpmann Award in 2009. As an improviser she has collaborated and performed with such luminaries as Lisa Gerrard, Brian Ritchie, Alvin Curran, Cat Hope, Derek Pascoe and Johannes Sistermanns as part of their Blue Touch Trio, and Paul Grabowsky. With a background as a multi-award winning pianist specialising in classical and new music, Gabriella has performed extensively in Australia and internationally, premiering over forty new works for solo piano by Australian and international composers in Australia, Europe and China, and collaborating with musicians as diverse as Brett Dean, Elena Kats Chernin, Erik Griswold, Erkki Veltheim, Jon Rose, and Tamara Anna Cislowska.
Gabriella’s performance of Alvin Curran’s solo For Cornelius on 9/8/17 was described as ‘meltingly beautiful’ and ‘mesmerising’ (The Australian). She has performed widely as a soloist throughout Australia, and internationally, promoting the works of Australian composers. Gabriella has performed in the Melbourne and Adelaide International Festivals, MONA MOFO, TURA (Perth) and in Europe and China. In 2010 she represented Australia at the World Expo in Shanghai. Gabriella has given numerous live and recorded broadcasts for ABC Classic FM.
Gabriella is Artistic Director of Soundstream Collective, the University of Adelaide’s New Music Ensemble-in-Residence, which received an SA Premier’s Award for Best Event in 2009, and was recognized nationally in 2013 through the APRA/AMCOS Award for Excellence by an Organisation. Soundstream established the Emerging Composers’ Forum in 2012, a national Forum creating opportunities for emerging composers through supporting the creation, workshopping, performance and recording of their works.
Derek Pascoe
Derek Pascoe has been playing saxophone professionally for over 40 years including regular TV, radio broadcasts and studio recordings across a range of genres. He was a member of acclaimed pop group Flintlock, who produced 5 albums and were featured weekly on UK national television including Top of the Pops and Tomorrow’s People. Pascoe has played at many of London’s prestigious Jazz venues including Ronnie Scott’s, Bass Clef and the Jazz Cafe. He has toured extensively throughout Europe, Japan and most recently in Australia with The Commitments.
In 1998 Pascoe moved to Australia from London. He completed a Master of Music at the Elder Conservatorium Adelaide in 2010, exploring performance and spontaneous improvisation techniques. Since 2000, he has lectured in Jazz theory and Improvisation across the Jazz, Classical and Contemporary disciplines at the Elder Conservatorium in Adelaide.
Pascoe has an extensive recording, arranging and composing history that includes the National Youth Jazz Orchestra UK, Jacqueline Dankworth UK, Shaolin Afronauts, the Zeitgeist Orchestra, John Aue and the Yearlings. His work in film includes improvised performance for the film documentary These Heathen Dreams, with music composed by Mike Darren and directed by Ann Tsoulis. In 2016 he composed and performed the music to accompany the silent masterpiece The Crowd as part of the APRA Silent Remasters series. In 2014, Pascoe composed music to Dylan Thomas’s Under Milk Wood, which received its world premiere in the Elder Hall Lunchtime Series in Adelaide. A subsequent CD recording was released in 2015 by Finepoets. Recent live performances include regular appearances at Creative Original Music Adelaide and Elder Hall Lunchtime Series concerts. Pascoe is currently composing music to the text from James Joyce’s Ulysses.
Johannes S Sistermanns
Dr. JOHANNES S. SISTERMANNS stages his compositions as electroacoustic, SoundPlastic exhibition, music theatre, urban environment, and radiophonic sound plays. He studied the “Tao of Voice” method with Stephen Cheng in New York and classical North Indian singing at the Banares Hindu University. From 1976 to 1984, he studied piano, Rhythmik, and new music theatre with Mauricio Kagel at the Cologne Conservatory of Music. Performances, exhibitions, teachings, and fellowships have taken him to Japan, China, Australia, and the USA. He has been a guest artist at many international festivals, including the Knitting Factory in New York (1995), Melbourne Festival (1997), EXPO 2000 in Hanover, Adelaide Festival (2000), Donaueschinger Musiktage (1996, 1999, 2005, 2016), Electroacoustic Music Festival in Shanghai (2006), ISCM World New Music Days Switzerland (2004)/Stuttgart (2006)/Sydney (2010), Experimental Intermedia in New York (2007), ZKM Karlsruhe Sound Dome (2010) Musicarama Hong Kong (2011)MONA MOFO Festival Tasmania 2015. Sistermanns lectured at the International Summer Courses for New Music in Darmstadt (2004, 2006), and worked as the Artistic Director of Experimental Music Theatre in Hellerau/Dresden (2010/11). He has received numerous prizes and awards including the 2015 FOREVER NOW Competition [Aphids, Melbourne]: the ‚Golden Record’ with 65 selected sound and audiovisual artworks shot in and spin through outer space, Prix PRESQUE RIEN/Luc Ferrari Paris 2015 and 1. Prize Leibniz Harmonies 2016 Hanover and the ‚GERMAN SOUNDART AWARD 2008’.