2016 Soundstream Emerging Composers Forum IS COMING!


The 2016 Soundstream Emerging Composers Forum gets underway from November 28 with the Finalists Concert being held at Studio 520 on November 30. The Finalists are Leah Blankendaal (SA), Mitchell Mollison (VIC), Daniel Thorpe (SA), Alex Turley (WA)  and Mark Wolf (QLD). Their works are scored for a selection of Soprano, Baritone, Clarinet, ‘Cello, Prepared Piano/Toy Piano and Electronics. Mentoring composers Cat Hope, Alison Isadora and Gao Ping were unanimous in their decision, despite the high standard of all submissions. The mentors commented: “The pieces chosen reflect an exciting diversity in compositional approaches and we are very much looking forward to working with the composers and performers in Adelaide.”

The Soundstream Emerging Composers Forum is open to all Australian composers residing around the world in their first five years of professional practice, or studying at Postgraduate level. The selected composers are flown to Adelaide to participate in open rehearsals of their work, workshops and lectures by the mentoring composers and with guest Professor Simon Emmerson, Music, Technology and Innovation, Leicester Media School, Faculty of Technology De Montfort University (UK). At the final concert, broadcast by Partner ABC Classic FM, three commissions of $5000 each will be offered.

Soundstream Emerging Composers Forum, presented by Soundstream in association with the Musicological Society of Australia and our broadcast partner ABC Radio.

Concert: Wednesday November 30, 7.30pm, Studio 520, ABC Collinswood.

ADMISSION FREE – registration is required