Music For a Summer Evening – George Crumb’s 20th Century masterpiece

red crumbblu crumb

George Crumb’s 20th century masterpiece, Makrokosmos 111 for two amplified pianos and percussion, hints at a divine power in the universe through an exotic and ethereal soundscape. Also featured are two commissions inspired by Makrokosmos 111 by James Rushford and 2014 Soundstream Emerging Composer recipient Samuel Smith, as well as a transcription of JS Bach by Tristram Cary.

Tristram Cary Ricercare from Musical Offering for two pianos (arr. From JS Bach)
James Rushford Necrology
Samuel Smith New Work
George Crumb Music for a Summer Evening (Makrokosmos III)

Amanda Grigg and Andrew Penrose, percussion

Tamara Anna Cislowska and Gabriella Smart, pianos

Thursday 23rd July 6.30pm

Elder Hall, North Terrace, Adelaide

Bookings at

Download the Elder Perspective brochure here.