Soundsteam Emerging Composers Forum a great success


What a fantastic week.

Twenty nine budding composers applied with five being short listed to workshop their pieces with Jan-Bas Bollen (Amsterdam), Melody Eotvos (Bloomington, Indiana) and Stephen Whittington (Adelaide) as the mentoring composers.

The week culminated with the Soundstream Collective consisting of flautist Geoffrey Collins, violinist Sophie Rowell, cellist Simon Cobcroft, and pianists Ashley Hribar and Gabriella Smart, Clarinet Peter Handsworth and percussion … performing the 5 works:

“As Rendered” – Michael Terren

“Trio I” – Alex Chilvers

“Things are Become New” – Samuel Smith

“Mapping Australia” – Daniel Portelli

“Two Fingers” – John Pax

Composers Samuel Smith, John Pax and Daniel Portelle were commission recipients.