Soundstream Emerging Composers Forum, presented by Soundstream and the Musicological Society of Australia

Wednesday November 30, 7.30pm
Studio 520, ABC Collinswood Centre, 85 North East Road, corner Rosetta Street, Collinswood SA

Soundstream presents five world premieres by Australia’s exciting new generation of leading composers. The sublime voices of Deborah Kayser and Anthony Zatorski will be complemented by cello, clarinet, and toy/prepared piano. After the concert, three of the composers will be awarded $5000 commissions, the highest awards for emerging composers in Australia.
Broadcast partner, ABC Classic FM

Deborah Kayser      Soprano
Anthony Zatroski    Baritone
Mitch Berick           Clarinet/Bass Clarinet
Simon Cobcroft      ‘Cello
Gabriella Smart      Toy Piano/Prepared Piano

Admission free, registration required at TRYBOOKING
Further information:

Go to “Listen & Watch” and relive the George Crumb masterpiece:

“Music for a Summer Evening” (Makrokosmos III) (1974 ) in 5 movements
Performed by Soundstream Collective- Elder Hall, Adelaide, South Australia July 23 2015

Tamara Anne Cislowska & Gabriella Smart – Pianos
Amanda Grigg & Andrew Penrose – Percussion


October 10: Hidden Sounds from the Z Ward
Saturday, 6:30pm – 9:00pm
Z Ward, Old Glenside Hospital
BOOK TICKET more information

October 17: Six Grands on Stage
Saturday, 8pm
Joan Sutherland Performing Arts Centre, Sydney
BOOK TICKET more information

October 18: Chamber Music Adelaide at Ngeringa Cultural Centre
Sunday, 12.30pm – 4.30pm
BOOK TICKET more information

October 19: Stalker – a performance with a film about a journey to a room
Adelaide Film Festival
Monday, 7:00 pm – 10:04 pm
Freemasons Balcony, North Terrace. Adelaide
BOOK TICKET more information





What a fantastic week.

Twenty nine budding composers applied with five being short listed to workshop their pieces with Jan-Bas Bollen (Amsterdam), Melody Eotvos (Bloomington, Indiana) and Stephen Whittington (Adelaide) as the mentoring composers.

The week culminated with the Soundstream Collective consisting of flautist Geoffrey Collins, violinist Sophie Rowell, cellist Simon Cobcroft, and pianists Ashley Hribar and Gabriella Smart, Clarinet Peter Handsworth and percussion … performing the 5 works:

“As Rendered” – Michael Terren

“Trio I” – Alex Chilvers

“Things are Become New” – Samuel Smith

“Mapping Australia” – Daniel Portelli

“Two Fingers” – John Pax

Composers Samuel Smith, John Pax and Daniel Portelle were commission recipients.