About: Emerging Composers Forum

Soundstream Emerging Composers Forum

ECF FLYERwebWe’re delighted to announce the composers  who have been selected to participate in the 2016 Soundstream Emerging Composers Forum, taking place in Adelaide from November 28 – 30: Leah Blankendaal (SA), Mitchell Mollison (VIC), Daniel Thorpe (SA), Alex Turley (WA)  and Mark Wolf (QLD). Their works are scored for a selection of Soprano, Baritone, Clarinet, ‘Cello, Prepared Piano/Toy Piano and Electronics. Mentoring composers Cat Hope, Alison Isadora and Gao Ping were unanimous in their decision, despite the high standard of all submissions. The mentors commented: “The pieces chosen reflect an exciting diversity in compositional approaches and we are very much looking forward to working with the composers and performers in Adelaide.”

The Soundstream Emerging Composers Forum is open to all Australian composers residing around the world in their first five years of professional practice, or studying at Postgraduate level. The selected composers are flown to Adelaide to participate in open rehearsals of their work, workshops and lectures by the mentoring composers and with guest Professor Simon Emmerson, Music, Technology and Innovation, Leicester Media School, Faculty of Technology De Montfort University (UK). At the final concert, broadcast by Partner ABC Classic FM, three commissions of $5000 each will be offered.


Soundstream Collective invites emerging composers Australia wide to take part in the 2016 Emerging Composers? Forum. The final selection of composer commissions will take place during a performance in Adelaide on November 30, 2016. Australia has a formidable collection of internationally renowned composers. It?s vital that we support the next generation of composers through creating professional opportunities through which to practice their art. The Soundstream ECF provides emerging composers with professional mentorship, critical review, public performance, recording and audience exposure to their music.

In 2016, the mentoring composers are:

Cat Hope (WA) http://www.cathope.com/
Alison Isadora (NZ/NETH) http://www.nzsm.ac.nz/news/latestnews/

Gao Ping (CHINA/NZ) http://www.gaoping.org/biography.htm

Soundstream Emerging Composers Forum, presented by Soundstream and the Musicological Society of Australia

Wednesday November 30, 7.30pm
Studio 520, ABC Collinswood Centre, 85 North East Road, corner Rosetta Street, Collinswood SA

Soundstream presents five world premieres by Australia’s exciting new generation of leading composers. The sublime voices of Deborah Kayser and Anthony Zatorski will be complemented by cello, clarinet, and toy/prepared piano. After the concert, three of the composers will be awarded $5000 commissions, the highest awards for emerging composers in Australia.
Broadcast partner, ABC Classic FM

Deborah Kayser      Soprano
Anthony Zatroski    Baritone
Mitch Berick           Clarinet/Bass Clarinet
Simon Cobcroft      ‘Cello
Gabriella Smart      Toy Piano/Prepared Piano

Admission free, registration required at TRYBOOKING
Further information: www.soundstream.org.au
Contact: info@soundstream.org.au