Soundstream is committed to shaping Australian culture through new music via ground-breaking programming, composer collaborations, the commissioning of new works, education and massed community events.


Established in 1994 in Adelaide by Artistic Director Gabriella Smart, Soundstream comprises some of Australia’s leading new music practitioners. Over twenty years, Soundstream has premiered works by leading composers including Tan Dun, Michael Nyman, Alvin Curran, Carl Vine, Elena Kats Chernin, Erkki Veltheim, Erik Griswold and Mary Finsterer, premiering their works around the world. Soundstream regularly performs live and recorded broadcasts for ABC Classic FM.

Soundstream Collective is the University of Adelaide’s new music Ensemble-in-Residence, established as a branch of Soundstream in 2011. The Collective was recognized nationally in 2013 through the APRA/AMCOS Award for Excellence by an Organisation. Soundstream was also awarded the SA/NT Creative Partnerships SME Award in 2013, for its partnership with sponsor Winston Music

The Emerging Composers’ Forum was established in 2012, a national event creating opportunities for emerging composers through supporting the creation, workshopping, performance and recording of their works with the support of ABC Classic FM. The Soundstream education stream creates open dialogue between conductors, musicians and the public through Musician Workshops, Visiting Composer Residencies, large-scale community events and such intimate events as the New Waves Listening Club.

Soundstream has performed in the Melbourne International Festival, MONA MOFO, OzAsia Festival, the Adelaide International Festival, Melbourne Recital Centre, and the Judith Wright Centre (Brisbane). European appearances include at the Cité internationale des arts (Paris), and in China at the Lyceum Theatre (Shanghai), Shanghai Conservatory and the Forbidden Palace Theatre (Beijing).